What matters is what you play for


Let me quote a letter to the publication’s editor, Mr. Tom Martin, of The Saturday Evening Post from Ernie Davies a great American Football Legend who play for Syracuse University and The Cleveland Browns….

Mr Martin,
In the end it turns out you did me a favour
When you asked me to write this for the post
You see, yesterday was my 23rd birthday,
and compare to some,
that doesn’t seem like a whole lot of life to talk about……

Thing is, I don’t know how much more is in front of me
And as you see from the number of pages,
If you’ve read this far,
I did have a few things to say,
and I’m not sure how to end this or even if I want to……

It’s funny,
Most people think my life has been all about football
I’ve even thought that myself
But football is just a game
What matters is what you play for…….

Sometimes,
when the game is close and everything is on the line,
that’s when it’s just you against somebody else to see who is the better man……

That’s what I like about the game.
Because all that moment,
You are friends and you are enemies
and you are brothers……

December 15, 1962
Ernie Davies

Write Your Messages

